Typography Feedback

I got some feedback from tutors today in the studio, the typography work that I’ve done did not go down well. Pretty much everything I liked about the work I had done, this wasn’t a mutual feeling. It was suggested that the text should be more straight forward and bold. As it was thought that my versions didn’t give a clear message.

ty3 ty2 ty1

I am not a massive fan of these, I understand why they work for the audience in being blatant about their purpose, but for me the text and visuals clash and I don’t think that my more typographic versions aren’t as obvious about their purpose. I have mocked them and my previous designs up on to bins despite these feelings, as well as in situ.

ty9 ty8 ty11

Feeling extremely frustrated, for a different opinion I approached a different tutor. I have been producing work that I think answers my brief –  but this is not the response I am getting from others. I understand that as a designer you will work for difficult clients and that they might pick designs that you think are ridiculous but this just feels like I am not even doing a project that I want to do. In the initial stages of this module I set out how important I felt this module would be for me to find out what my interests and practice was and I have been unable to do that, as everything that I enjoy doing for this CCA project I am told is ‘wrong’ but I am not given any tips on how I might make it ‘right’ – can there a be a wrong or right in design or just a difference of opinion?

I took Marianne through the ideas for my project from the beginning, and she immediately caught on to the initial ideas I had. I was interested in giving the bin a different purpose – making them more into games. I was really glad for this because at the beginning I had had a lot of confidence in those initial ideas and was annoyed how this work had pulled me away from that. From this conversation, I decided that even though I had spent a lot of time going down the path I had for this project with these bin visuals,  if I walked away from the idea, effectively I would have wasted time, something I really can’t afford to do. Unfortunately I need to step back and almost start again.

I will have to use my time after the CCA deadline to actually do the kind of briefs I want to do, those that might take me in the direction I want to go in, i.e. textiles design or artistic direction. At this point I am far too behind on the scarfs brief to catch up with it in time for the deadline I set myself. Luckily this was a brief me and my mum had come up with for my Granny and she said at the very outset that if other work gets in the way I must not put this one first.

Rough Timetable for Scarf's brief
Rough Timetable for Scarf’s brief

I do not want to drop this brief as this was the only one of my initial brief that I was truly excited to work on, however I will aim to pick it up again over easter. I have definitely learnt that taking on too many different briefs that all start and finish at similar times is challenging. If they were more in a carousel formation I may have had better luck.

Have started work on Love Arts leaflet brief so as to kind of counteract this, i.e. when I finish CCA I will have something else to pick up where I will already have done the initial work for it.

Leave a comment